About the CT Course

BA (Hons) Acting and Contemporary Theatre (CT) at East15 School

University of Essex UK.

Accredited by Drama UK. | UCAS code: W441 BA/ACTh | East15 School of Acting, Essex University, Loughton Campus

... a fertile new source of triple threat performers... ---The Stage 2013

The CT course is renowned not only as an innovative and highly influential actor-training program, but also as a creative hub producing innovative theatrical work that transferred to venues worldwide. Theatre companies formed by graduates have received numerous awards including ‘Scotsman Fringe First’, ‘Chortle for best comedy’ and ‘Adelaide Critics for best ensemble’.

The CT course is dedicated to the development of an emerging actor-training methodology that focuses on the training of multi-talented performers. While developing their skills as actors, students experiment with European physical theatre, creative writing, devising, composition and cross-media art. Direct collaborations between the course and established companies are developed too and included work with the National Theatre Studio, Soho Theatre and The London South Bank Centre.’

Theatre companies formed by former CT students include: The Pretend Men, Snuff Box Theatre, The Alchemist Theatre Company, ANTLER Theatre, Bear Trap Theatre, Bricks and Mortar Theatre, Brigitte Aphrodite, Caligula's Alibi Theatre Company, Christopher Brett Bailey, Fat Rascal Theatre, Full Pelt Theatre, HighRise Theatre, Late Night Gimp Fight, Lost Watch Theatre Company, Sabotage Theatre, Shrimpton & Routledge, Superglue Assembly Line, Little Soldiers Productions, and Conscious Theatre.

Full list of Awards and Bursaries won by CT students

Antler-Where the White Stops

(Antler - Where the White Stops.)


The course is led by Uri Roodner who has enjoyed an extensive career as a performer, director and mentor. He toured internationally with his award-winning theatre company ‘Tottering Bipeds’ and more recently with Gecko and with The Clod Ensemble. He has appeared in major British theatres and in films by major directors such as Michael Winterbottom, José Padilha and the Brothers Quay. He appears in television, worked as a documentary film maker for The BBC, Channel 4 and The Discovery Channel USA. He taught actors in major institutions in London, as well as in New York, Shanghai, Amsterdam, Madrid, Nicosia and Tel-Aviv. He devoted himself to the development and advancement of a methodology for training actors as creative, independent entrepreneurs.

The CT pedagogic team includes Stephen Douse, Marcin Rudy, Colin Sadler, Zois Pigadas and Christopher Brett Baileys.

Visiting practitioners included: April De Angelis, Ken Campbell, Steve Marmion, Alexander Zeldin, Trilby James, Paul Hunter, Kirsty Housley, Roxana Silbert, Bryony Shanahan, Charlotte Josephine, Carl Heap, Paul Warwick, Jonathan Holloway, Nic Phillipu, John Gillett, Ed Collier, Michael Garner, Raquel Cassidy, Dan Milne, Ewan Marshal, Shelley King, Andrew Dawson, Joyce Henderson, Mel Churcher, Julia Wilson-Dikson, Didi Hopkins, Sean McCann, Josh Darcy, Sean Garratt, Luke Clark, Jesse Briton and Carlos Estevez.